August 20, 2007

The Honorable George W. Bush President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We are writing about the vital need to nominate a strong individual who can be confirmed as the next administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Our nation cannot afford a recess appointee as we face the time-critical challenge of modernizing our nation's aviation infrastructure.

In 1995, Congress and the president recognized the importance of strong leadership at the FAA when Congress made the FAA administrator's term of office five years. Your former Secretary of Transportation, Norman Mineta, put it succinctly on October 7, 1993, during House floor consideration of this legislation, when he said:

"This is an agency that is so highly technical that past administrators have acknowledged that, despite their aviation expertise, the learning curve to become a proficient administrator is over a year. The result of this combination of constant turnover and complex subject matter is that the FAA has had significant periods of time in the past several years in which the agency was being run by an administrator in training. Hopefully, this bill will provide some additional stability to this agency that is so vital to aviation safety."

We are united in our belief that modernization is absolutely necessary and that critical decisions impacting the entire aviation infrastructure will need to be made in the next two years. If confirmed for a five-year term, the next administrator can provide the necessary continuity and strong leadership of the interagency process to ensure that critical decisions are made in a timely manner to begin the urgent task of modernizing our aviation infrastructure.

Mr. President, we urge that your choice for this important position be nominated for a full fiveyear term in order for this individual to lead the way on modernization now.

Sincerely,

Stephin a. alterna

Stephen Alterman President Cargo Airline Association

Phil Boyer President Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association

Roger Cohen President Regional Airline Association

4.161

James K. Coyne President National Air Transport Association

Janka R. Dark

Paula R. Derks President Aircraft Electronics Association

Ed Bolen President and CEO National Business Aviation Association

Peter J. Bunce

Peter J. Bunce President and CEO General Aviation Manufacturers Association

Connors

Bill Connors Executive Director and COO National Business Travel Association

John B. Cadala

John B. Cudahy President International Council of Air Shows

Brian Dubi

Brian E. Dubie Chairman Aerospace States Association

Peter F. Dumont President Air Traffic Control Association

Sarah MacLeod Executive Director Aeronautical Repair Station Association

M. Ca

Henry M. Ogrodzinski President and CEO National Association of State Aviation Officials

Ronald N. Priddy President National Air Carriers Association

cc. The Honorable Mary E. Peters The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye The Honorable John D. Rockefeller IV The Honorable Ted Stevens The Honorable Trent Lott The Honorable James L. Oberstar The Honorable Jerry F. Costello The Honorable John L. Mica The Honorable Thomas E. Petri

Brian Finnegan President Professional Aviation Maintenance Association

James C. May President and CEO Air Transport Association

Tom Poberezny President Experimental Aircraft Association

Susan 2. Sheets

Susan L. Sheets President National Aircraft Resale Association